Founded by St Marcellin Champagnat in 1817 in France, there are 3,200 Brothers across 80 Countries.

The Marist Brothers are educators, youth ministers, counsellors, social workers, and missionaries. Everyday, Brothers transform the lives and situations of thousands of young people through education and spirituality programs, challenging young people to live to their fullest potential and make a difference in the world around them. Known originally as the Little Brothers of Mary, the Catholic Church approved our Congregation in 1863 giving us the title: Fratres Maristae a Scholis (FMS) or Marist Brothers of the Schools.

In the Province of Australia, 215 Brothers live in 36 Marist Communities across the country, with another 20 Brothers working in Marist ministries in Algeria, Bougainville, Cambodia, East Timor, Italy (General Headquarters, Rome), Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Solomon Islands and Vietnam.

The Province Of Australia was created on December 8, 2012, bringing together the former provinces of Melbourne and Sydney. Our current Provincial is Brother Peter Carroll, FMS, who is serving his first term as Provincial. The Provincial Headquarters is located at Mascot in Sydney.

The General Headquarters of the Marist Brothers is located in Rome. Our current Superior General is Brother Ernesto Sanchez Barba, FMS. To find out more about the mission and ministries of the Marist Brothers throughout the world, go to:

Check out the Marist Vocations webpage for more information on discerning the life of a Marist Brother.